Meet the Board:

  • Linda Scott chair of the MHS board, has served on the board since 2011. She is the owner of Up North Title located in Virginia, Minnesota. Linda served as treasurer for MHS for the last four years and served on many different committees as well. Linda believes in the philosophy of MHS that no animal should be left behind. With that in mind, her goals for MHS are to continue to find ways to create sustainability and to build a new modern shelter to house the animals until we find them their forever homes. Linda breeds, trains, and shows Oldenburg sport horses in dressage and eventing. Linda and her husband Lloyd (animal whisper) live outside Gilbert with 3 dogs, 3 cats and 7 horses….the kids think it’s too cold to live in Minnesota.

  • Nancy Andrews

  • Carolyn Dinneen 

  • Nicholas Mathiowetz- Has served on the Mesabi Humane board since 2018. He is the President/CEO of NorthRidge Community Credit Union, with branches across the Iron Range. Nicholas serves as the Chair of the Programs and Operations Committee and has been involved with animal shelters since 2008. He began his involvement as a shelter volunteer working with dogs and advanced to assisting in general shelter operations and training other volunteers to handle shelter dogs. He and his wife Becky has also been a foster family and have adopted all of their foster dogs. Currently, he has three shelter dogs including two boxer mixes and a feisty, elderly chihuahua. 

  • Millie Wells-Boyer

  • Carol Norman- serves as secretary for the board

  • Kathy Wiegert- was a band director for 34 years in the County Schools of Cherry and Orr with a B.M.E from UW-River Falls, an M.S.E in Instruction from UW-Superior and an Educational Administration also from UW-Superior. A love of animals and enthusiasm for their care brought her to the Mesabi Humane Society.

Join the Board

Do you love animals? Would you like to play an important role in our organization? From time to time we look for new individuals to join our board. Please take a look at the job description and Board application. Feel free to contact anyone on our executive committee to discuss questions you may have.

Executive Committee Members
  • Linda Scott

  • Carol Norman

  • Elizabeth Treher